Kazam pre-alpha

Hi guys,

So I have been working on Kazam and I have decided to get a pre-alpha out there so that people can see what I am trying to do, maybe get interested, offer help, file bugs etc.

Bear in mind this is really just a pre-alpha, loads nof stuff is not working yet. At the moment, the start window is working (though video and audio can only be from screen and what is currently playing) the countdown window and indicator are also working, as well as the recording (though a dirty implementation) and the finished recording window (apart from the edit selector) is also working.

At the moment, Kazam is not really useful as it outputs a large lossless mkv file, that is not useful for uploading etc. But again this is a pre-alpha!

If you really want to download Kazam and have a look at it, please do the following:

sudo apt-get install ffmpeg

bzr branch lp:kazam

cd kazam/bin

python kazam

This will open up the start window. From here, just press record (activate audio if you want), the countdown will start, the indicator will appear and once you finish the recording, you will have the option to save your screencast.

Help

As you can see I would like to start getting help for this project, so if you wish to help, please have a look at the code, download and test as above, file bugs.. whatever! If you have any question, comment below, use Launchpad answers, contact me through Launchpad or find me on freenode (and471). I will be able to find something for you to do!😀

Links

(If you are going to re-blog this, all I ask is that you stress that it is a pre-alpha and that is isn’t really working for public use yet, only for developers😀 )

5 responses to “Kazam pre-alpha

  1. I’m really excited about this! I can’t wait to see how this turns out.

    • Calota Romeo

      Hello, i just saw you’re email….i’m checking it out right now i’ll get back to you as soon as possible….thank you for keeping me up to date…

  2. I hope Kazam will finally solve the problem of screen casting in Linux, every single screen recorder I use has some type of problem.

    If you need any help just say something, I know a little bit of python and I’m a quick learner (i think).

    Keep up the good work

    • Thanks Fábio. You can start helping out now (as it says in the blog post) however soon I shall do a beta release which will be much more feature complete and I will encourage wider testing, this might be the best point to start getting involved.

  3. This is going to be awesome. I am going to have to checkout the code and see how I can help.

Leave a Reply

