Samsung Series 5 Ultrabook works great with Ubuntu

…that is all…

18 responses to “Samsung Series 5 Ultrabook works great with Ubuntu

  1. Any tips/links on how to configure Ubuntu to use the 16gig ssd for quick boot and the 500gig hdd for main?

  2. Sorry have’t looked at the Dell 14z, just know that I am very happy with the Series 5:)

  3. Hey, I’m trying get into ubuntu so I decide to install it in my samsung series 5, but the thing is I can’t.
    I tried to install it through usb but the bios didn’t recognize, tried with sd card, the bios didn’t recognized either. How did you do it? Sorry for my bad english, greetings from Brazil.

  4. Jorge

    I could make installing ubuntu via USB
    the solution to recognize the USB is the PC firmware update.
    I worked with samsung series 5 ultrabook

  5. moeses@freenet.de

    No, it doesn’t! For the following reasons:

    * battery life is poor, about 2h when watching a movie (with special grub parameters set)
    * no suspend after closing the lid
    * bluetooth-transfer only works from laptop to my phone (android)
    * display brightness doesn’t survive reboot

    And a couple of issues which are probably hardware independent. I say it works not too bad but great doesn’t fit.

    Bernd

  6. Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m inspired! Very useful info specially the remaining phase :) I maintain such info a lot. I used to be seeking this particular information for a long time. Thanks and best of luck.

  7. frantoms

    Hi all,
    I just buy a Samsung Series 5 Ulta (NP530U3) and when I boot with liveUSB and I shut down without install ubuntu I recibe a black screen and my laptop will not boot more.

    Someone with the same laptop has installed dual boot (Ubuntu 12.04 and Win 7)? I have pre-installed Win 7.
    If this is so could let me how to do it?

    Regards!

  8. Tiago

    wow did you manage to install the graphic drivers correctly?

    Thanks!

  9. Hi colleagues, pleasant post and fastidious urging commented at this place, I am genuinely enjoying by these.

  10. I have Ubuntu 13.10 with the Samsung Series 5 (i3,8GB, 256GB SSD). I use notebook for developer job : php, css, gfx (gimp, inskscape) and javascript .. For me is cool computer. Implementation the TLP software in notebook, give me max 4h job with little internal battery on wifi .. Zero problems with installation the ubuntu ..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

